Japan has some of the coolest manhole covers on this planet!

My library of images on Facebook is small, but I’ve been taking shots of some of the many cool manhole covers I see for years. In particular, I like the ones that are used by fire departments to connect their hoses to fight fires.

With the rapid penetration of smartphones in Japan since 2011, the hazards of being a pedestrian, cyclist, or motorist here are increasing. With so many people looking down while they walk and drive, it is amazing that some people actually get to where they are trying to go. However, like me, there are a lot of people in Japan that have been looking down at our feet for some time.

The most popular and acclaimed compilation of manhole covers that I know of has been put together by Remo Camerota in Drainspotting.  The book is supplemented by the Drainspotting blog, on Blogspot.

If you get a chance, take a good look at the ground you’re walking on. You might find some pretty impressive art!

And, BTW, here’s a great quiz question. Why are manhole covers nearly always round? Don’t worry, there are quite a few good answers, although one is considered the most pragmatic.

